Our verdict: Worth paying for

Hot tub covers

Short answer

262 of the 390 hot tub spec sheets we track list a cover as included, but only 109 give its thickness, most often 4 inches, tapering to 2.5 inches. What the foam is made of, and whether it stays dry, matters more than the thickness.

A hot tub cover cut in half on the tub: foam tapering from 4 in at the hinge to 2.5 in at the edge, in a plastic vapor barrier inside a vinyl skin; the wrap wears first at the hinge
A cover cut in half: tapered foam in a vinyl skin. The hinge is where it wears.
A hot tub with its cover closed and a cover lifter fitted, on a grey deck in a fenced back garden with a brick house behind
A cover closed, with a cover lifter fitted. · Photo: Liam Gillan / Pexels

Worth paying for

Plan on a new cover about every five years, and check the cover rules before you buy. A replacement 8-foot Arctic cover lists at $1,095. Master Spas and Sundance don't warrant the cover, and Marquis says a generic one voids its shell warranty.

What does a hot tub cover do?

The water surface is the biggest single place a hot tub loses heat. Uncovered, warm water evaporates, and every pound that leaves takes heat with it. A cover traps that heat and steam. California's Energy Commission names insulation and the cover as the biggest energy-saving opportunity in a spa, and the state's standby test is run with a specific cover, which the energy label must list. A tub's published standby watts assume that cover, in good shape.

How thick should a hot tub cover be?

Most covers are thicker in the middle than at the edges, so rain and snowmelt run off instead of pooling. Four inches tapering to 2.5 is the most common spec we see; Cal Spas lists 5 tapering to 3 on some models, and Artesian's Elite line uses a 5-inch maximum. Thickness is only half the story. The Commission reports that most covers use expanded polystyrene (EPS) foam, which absorbs water and then loses nearly all its insulating value. Extruded polystyrene (XPS) absorbs less and insulates at about R-5 per inch, against R-3.1 to 4.3 for dry EPS. Ask which foam is inside, and what the vapor barrier around it is made of. A few brands skip foam panels altogether: Strong ships most series with a hard cover on a built-in lifter, and Tuff Spas uses a rotomolded hard lid.

How long does a hot tub cover last?

About five years on average, half the life of the tub, by the Commission's figures. The usual story: the plastic wrap around the foam tears or wears at the hinge, steam gets in, and the foam starts soaking up water. The cover gets heavier and sags in the middle, water pools on top, and the heater runs more to replace heat leaking through wet foam. Better seals at the hinge, a skirt that hangs over the edge, and an insulated hinge all slow this down. Budget for at least one replacement over the tub's life.

Is the cover covered by the hot tub warranty?

Often not, and the fine print can reach further than the cover. Master Spas' 2026 Legend warranty excludes the cover and damage caused by a non-MasterSpas cover. Sundance's 2025 880 warranty leaves the cover out. Marquis says a generic aftermarket cover voids its shell warranty. Cal Spas is the one brand in our data whose tub warranty includes the cover, for three years. Before you accept the cover that comes with the tub, read what happens when you replace it. See hot tub insulation for the rest of the heat-loss picture and hot tub running cost for what it adds up to. To keep one in shape, see hot tub cover care.

What to ask the dealer

  • Does the tub's warranty cover the cover, and for how long?
  • Will a non-brand replacement cover void anything?
  • What does a replacement cover for this model cost today?
Get the price range, then one dealer near you

The details

Which brands offer it, the research behind the verdict, and the sources.

Which brands offer it

15 brands

Cover listed as included

262 of 390

Thickness published

109

47 say 4 in, tapering to 2.5

Typical cover life

About 5 years

against about 10 for the tub

Covers by brand: thickness and how each maker's warranty treats the cover
American WhirlpoolWeatherShield coverNot publishedNot stated4 of 22
Artesian SpasCovers5 inNot stated38 of 41
Bullfrog SpasNot publishedNot stated25 of 25
Cal SpasTapered cover included4 in, tapering to 2.5; 5 in, tapering to 3Covered for 3 years57 of 57
Caldera SpasWeatherPro cover4 inNot stated23 of 23
Dimension One SpasUltraLast coverNot publishedOwn cover warranty0 of 15
Hot SpringWeatherPro cover4 inNot stated16 of 24
JacuzziProLast coverNot publishedExcluded0 of 19
MarquisDuraCover included; Weathershield optionalNot publishedGeneric cover voids shell warranty24 of 25
Master SpasDeluxe Tapered CoverNot publishedExcluded29 of 29
Nordic Hot TubsNot publishedNot stated0 of 26
PDC SpasAccuLok thermal coverNot publishedOwn cover warranty11 of 14
Sundance SpasNot publishedExcluded0 of 19
Vita SpaWeatherShield coverNot publishedNot stated8 of 20
WellisThermo cover12 cm, tapering to 7Not stated27 of 31
“Not stated” means we found no cover terms in the maker's warranty documents we read.

What the research says

9 findings
  • Government The CEC report identifies insulation and the cover as the biggest energy-saving opportunity and says spa standby tests are run with a specific cover, which the label must list.
  • Government Per the CEC, most covers use EPS foam, which absorbs water and then loses nearly all its insulating value. XPS absorbs less water and rates about R-5 per inch versus R-3.1 to 4.3 for dry EPS.
  • Government The CEC cites an average cover life of about five years against about ten years for the spa, and names radiant barriers, better seals, skirts and single or insulated hinges as improvements.
  • Maker Strong ships most series with its DURA-SHIELD hard cover on a built-in lifter.
  • Maker LPI's Tuff Spas come with the Tuff Top, a rotomolded hard cover that doubles as a shelf.
  • Trade A pool store lists an 8-foot Weather Shield replacement cover for Arctic tubs at $1,095.
  • Maker Master Spas' 2026 Legend warranty doesn't cover covers and excludes damage from a non-Master Spas cover.
  • Maker Sundance's 2025 880 warranty doesn't include the cover and ends if the tub is sold.
  • Maker Marquis says generic or aftermarket covers void its shell warranty.

Common questions

How thick should a hot tub cover be?

Most spec sheets that give a figure say 4 inches tapering to 2.5; some use 5 tapering to 3. The foam type matters as much: XPS insulates about R-5 per inch and absorbs less water than EPS.

How long do hot tub covers last?

About five years on average, according to California's Energy Commission, against about ten years for the spa itself.

Does a hot tub warranty cover the cover?

Usually not. Master Spas, Sundance and Jacuzzi exclude it, and Marquis says a generic replacement voids its shell warranty. Cal Spas includes the cover for three years.

Sources

4

Ten questions, three tubs that fit you.

Take the 2-minute quiz

What a good deal looks like, then one dealer near you.

Get the price range