Coast Spas swim spas

A Langley, B.C. builder of ten jetted swim spas, sold on its infinity edge, pressurized filtration and River Jets on their own pumps, with variable speed on the Sport Pro models.

10 models in five series, 12′ 7″ to 20′ 8″ long.

Length
12′ 7″–20′ 8″
Water
1,371–2,770gal
Current
Jets
1 not stated
Hot tub side
None
Price
On request
Ask for the price range

Performance Collection, Pro Series1 model · 13′ 5″ · jets

Performance Collection, Sport Pro Series3 models · 16′ to 20′ 8″ · jets

Performance Collection, Sport Series3 models · 16′ to 20′ 8″ · jets

Recreation Collection, Lifestyle Series2 models · 12′ 7″ to 13′ 5″ · jets

Recreation Collection, Plunge Series1 model · 12′ 7″ · current not stated

What owners report

Themes from owner reviews and forum threads, each linked to where it was posted. People with a problem are the most likely to post.

What owners praise1

Layout and features liked, even by unhappy ownersThree swim spa owners who posted complaints still praised the product itself: a 1600 owner (Sept 2026) liked…1 source

Three swim spa owners who posted complaints still praised the product itself: a 1600 owner (Sept 2026) liked the layout and features, a 2023 owner loved the bench, and the owner of an older '13 L' model (2024) called it a very nice product. All three reviews are otherwise negative, so read this as 'the design isn't the problem', not as endorsements.

What owners complain about2

Cracks and build flaws soon after deliveryThe owner of a new 1600 (September 2026) says it arrived with gaps in the wood frame and an uneven seam where…2 sources

The owner of a new 1600 (September 2026) says it arrived with gaps in the wood frame and an uneven seam where the ends join, then developed a crack shortly after delivery; Coast called it a stress crack possibly caused by misuse and, eleven months on, first offered a patch kit and then nothing definite. A 2023 owner reports a shell problem soon after purchase, a failed topside controller after about a year and then a leak. A search-engine listing of Coast's Trustpilot page shows the same 1600 review, but we could not open Trustpilot to confirm it.

Slow warranty help, parts and deliveryOwners describe long waits: a swim spa delivered in late 2023 lost water from the start and shut itself down…1 source

Owners describe long waits: a swim spa delivered in late 2023 lost water from the start and shut itself down after 12 uses, with no fix eight months later; a 2023 owner says neither the dealer nor Coast provided warranty service; the owner of a three-year-old '13 L' swim spa was told the pump and model were discontinued and quoted about $900 to retrofit one; and a 2022 buyer describes a cancelled order, a price increase and delivery two months late. Two of these reviews drew a May 2024 reply offering help with the warranty concern through a technical-support email.

Owner reports as of September 2026.

What Coast Spas is known for

What salespeople lead with, checked against Coast Spas’s own documents and public records. Of these eight, one holds up, four are partly true and three are mostly marketing.

Partly trueFew othersInfinity-edge swim spasCoast sells six of its ten swim spas with its 'Patented Infinity Edge': water spills over one edge into an…

The pitchCoast sells six of its ten swim spas with its 'Patented Infinity Edge': water spills over one edge into an overflow tank, so the level stays put however many people get in, there's no skimmer grate, and the view is open.

Offered on: 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro

Our takeThe edge is real on the 1400, 1401, 1700, 1701, 2100 and 2101, but Coast's own FAQ sells it on view, looks and filtration, not on swimming.

Why it mattersIt changes how the spa looks and skims, and it's the feature reps lead with on the VE models.

Who else has it: Coast calls it patented and markets it as its signature; we found no other maker in our research selling a vanishing-edge swim spa.

Partly trueEach swim jet on its own pumpReps say every River Jet gets its own 4 hp (6 bhp) pump, up to three jets and 12 hp (18 bhp) in all, lit and…The catch: On two models the third swim jet shares the seat pump

The pitchReps say every River Jet gets its own 4 hp (6 bhp) pump, up to three jets and 12 hp (18 bhp) in all, lit and aimable, with the seats on a separate pump.

Offered on: 1302 Bench, 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1600 Sport, 1700 VE Sport, 2100 VE Sport (the Sport Pro models use variable-speed pumps instead)

Our takeThe 2026 manual's pump diagrams confirm separate River Jet pumps, but it's still a jet current and Coast publishes no flow, width or top speed.

Why it mattersPumps that only run the current keep it steady while someone else uses the seats.

Who else has it: Multi-jet currents are the norm among jetted swim spas, and several makers, Master Spas and Cal Spas among them, run swim jets on pumps of their own.

The catchOn two models the third swim jet shares the seat pump. On the 1400 VE and 1401 VE the 2026 manual's diagram puts the third swim jet on the 5 HP seat pump, despite the page's 'powered solely' wording. Coast publishes no flow, current width or top speed for any of its currents, so ask to see one run at full speed.

Mostly marketingOnly Coast Spas'Patented Atlas Grill System'On the 1600, 1700 and 2100 models Coast fits its Atlas grill in front of the three River Jets and says it…

The pitchOn the 1600, 1700 and 2100 models Coast fits its Atlas grill in front of the three River Jets and says it gives 'a smoother resistance current' that swimmers can aim.

Offered on: 1600 Sport, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro (standard on their builder pages)

Our takeCoast calls it patented and smoother but publishes no patent number, test or figure to show what the grill changes.

Why it mattersA smoother, straighter current is easier to swim in than raw jet streams.

Who else has it: The Atlas name and grill are Coast's own; other makers use flow straighteners of their own designs.

Partly trueVariable-speed Sport Pro currentThe Sport Pro versions replace the fixed swim pumps with three variable-speed pumps: '10 Programmable Speed…The catch: The '1401 VE Pro' lists fixed pumps, not variable-speed

The pitchThe Sport Pro versions replace the fixed swim pumps with three variable-speed pumps: '10 Programmable Speed Settings', warm-up, workout and cool-down programs, and 'Energy Savings up to 90%' against conventional pumps.

Offered on: 1601 Sport Pro, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2101 VE Sport Pro

Our takeThe settings and programs are in Coast's flyer and manual, but the pumps' horsepower is unpublished and the 90% saving has no stated test.

Why it mattersMore speed steps let a beginner and a strong swimmer share one spa.

Who else has it: Multi-step currents are common: Endless Pools' E500 has 31 pace settings and Hydropool's Aquatic models ten.

The catchThe '1401 VE Pro' lists fixed pumps, not variable-speed. The 1401 VE, sold in the Performance Collection as a Pro model with the Sport Pro control, lists the same two fixed 4 HP pumps as the 1400 VE, so ask which pumps it ships with. Coast also gives no horsepower for its variable-speed pumps and no test for its 'up to 90%' saving.

Show 4 more selling points
Partly trueFew othersPressurized 175 sq ft filtrationCoast's 'Hydro Cyclonic Filtration System' puts a 175 sq ft filter in a closed, pressurized canister outside…

The pitchCoast's 'Hydro Cyclonic Filtration System' puts a 175 sq ft filter in a closed, pressurized canister outside the bathing area, the way public pools do, instead of a skimmer filter in the water with you. Coast calls it the largest filter in any hot tub.

Our takeThe pressurized canister is real and standard (100 sq ft on the 1300 Plunge); the 'largest' and 'only' claims are Coast's own and untested.

Why it mattersDirt caught in a pressurized canister can't drift back into the water when the pumps stop.

Who else has it: Most swim spas filter through skimmer cartridges in the spa; Coast says it has the only spas that take a 175 sq ft filter.

Mostly marketingLevitator 'buoyancy' jetsCoast adds upward-angled Levitator jets under the swim lane (one on the 1600 and 2100, four on the 1400 and…

The pitchCoast adds upward-angled Levitator jets under the swim lane (one on the 1600 and 2100, four on the 1400 and 1401 VE, six on the 1700) and says they push up on the legs so you swim in place as if moving through open water.

Offered on: 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1600 Sport, 1601 Sport Pro, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro

Our takeCoast's explanation is its own, with no test; its FAQ elsewhere describes Levitator jets as focused hydrotherapy jets.

Why it mattersLegs that sink make swimming in place harder work.

Who else has it: Jacuzzi (a 'SteadySwim' buoyancy jet) and Hydropool (a buoyancy jet beside its V-Twin swim jets) sell the same idea; Levitator is Coast's name for it.

Holds upBuilt in Langley, B.C.Coast says all its swim spas are made at its own plant in Langley, British Columbia, where it has built hot…

The pitchCoast says all its swim spas are made at its own plant in Langley, British Columbia, where it has built hot tubs and swim spas since 1990 for dealers in more than 50 countries.

Our takeCoast states it in its FAQ and brochures and prints the Langley factory address everywhere; nothing contradicts it.

Why it mattersWhere it's built decides where parts come from and who stands behind it.

Who else has it: Several swim spa makers build in Canada, among them Hydropool and Arctic Spas.

Mostly marketingFew othersNew turbine counter-current (2100)Coast's February 2026 2100 brochure introduces a 'Counter Current System' with an internal turbine…The catch: No product page, borrowed specs

The pitchCoast's February 2026 2100 brochure introduces a 'Counter Current System' with an internal turbine (impeller), a dedicated high-flow pump and a wide laminar mouth, and says the '2100 Sports Pro Plus' reaches 'Up to 3.1 meters per second'.

Offered on: Announced for a '2100 Sport Pro Plus'; not on any current Coast product page

Our takeIt exists only in a brochure and a 'What's New' page: no product page, owner's manual entry or reliable spec.

Why it mattersA wide, turbine-driven current is closer to what propeller swim spas deliver than a set of jets.

Who else has it: Coast's other current is jets; turbine and propeller currents are sold by a minority of makers (Endless Pools, PDC).

The catchNo product page, borrowed specs. The brochure's spec block for the 'Sport Pro Plus Counter Current' repeats the 1600's size, weights and 17 HP pumps, and the collection page's 'Select Model' box shows a cold plunge. Ask whether it can be ordered and get its real specifications in writing.

What rivals and critics say3
  • Rival Hydropool says it couldn't find what Coast uses in its frames. Our check: Coast's builder pages list a 'Pressure Treated Frame' of treated lumber on every swim model except the 2100 VE pair, whose pages omit it. So the answer is wood, and unconfirmed on the 2100 VE pair.
  • Hydropool notes that Coast's standard insulation is 'foam core' with full foam optional. Our check: True: the builder's standard 'Foam Core Insulation' only partly fills the cabinet, and 'Full Foam Insulation XL' is an upgrade.
  • Hydropool couldn't find Coast's prices online. Our check: True: Coast's pages offer only 'Get pricing' and quote forms, and its own shop lists no swim spas.
Coast Spas on the ten things we checkThe current, room to swim, the frame, site prep, service and the warranty

How Coast Spas stands

The buying guide

The ten checks from our swim spa buying guide, answered from what Coast Spas publishes and from public filings. Tap a row for the detail.

  • 0 yes
  • 8 partly
  • 0 no
  • 2 not published
Swim currentJets, not a propeller: two or three lit, aimable River Jets, each on its own pumpPartly

Coast makes its current with 'River Jets', each fed by its own 4 HP pump: two on the 1302 Bench, two on the 1400 VE and 1401 VE (plus a smaller third swim jet that the manual's diagram puts on the seat pump), and three on the 1600, 1700 and 2100 Performance models, where Coast adds its 'Atlas' grill in front of them. The Sport Pro versions swap the fixed pumps for three variable-speed pumps with ten programmable settings. Coast doesn't publish flow, current width, top speed or whether air is mixed in.

Applies to: 1300 Plunge, 1302 Bench, 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1600 Sport, 1601 Sport Pro, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro (the 1300 Plunge has no current).

Room to swimCoast Spas doesn't publish this. Ask the dealerNot published

Coast gives outside sizes from 151 in (12.6 ft) to 248 in (20.7 ft) and cabinet heights of 53 or 63.5 in, but no open swim length, lane width or water depth. The 1600 and 2100 models have the taller 63.5-inch cabinets; how deep their water is, Coast doesn't say. It also prints 'Seats NA' instead of a seat count.

Applies to: 1300 Plunge, 1302 Bench, 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1600 Sport, 1601 Sport Pro, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro

Frame and shellFiberglass-reinforced acrylic on a pressure-treated wood framePartly

Coast's 2026 manual says every swim spa has a fiberglass-reinforced acrylic shell, and its builder pages list a 'Pressure Treated Frame' of treated lumber, chosen to resist moisture damage. That is the wood-frame approach: strong when dry, at risk if a hidden leak soaks it. The 2100 VE pages drop the frame line, so ask what carries Coast's longest swim spa. Laminate thickness, framing and base aren't published.

Applies to: 1300 Plunge, 1302 Bench, 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1600 Sport, 1601 Sport Pro, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro; frame unconfirmed on the 2100 VE Sport and 2101 VE Sport Pro.

Site prepPlan on a reinforced concrete pad, a crane and a 40-60 A circuitPartly

Filled, Coast's swim spas weigh 13,664 to 27,121 lb. Its manual asks for at least a 3-inch concrete slab or decking built for 150 lb per square foot, while its FAQ recommends at least a 6-inch pad with fiber or rebar and rules out grass and mulch. Delivery is by crane with long straps and chains, and lifting damage isn't covered. Electrical depends on the model (40, 50 or 60 A, plus 30 A for an optional second heater), and Coast doesn't say which.

Applies to: 1300 Plunge, 1302 Bench, 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1600 Sport, 1601 Sport Pro, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro

Running costPartial foam is standard and full foam costs extraPartly

Coast fills only part of the cabinet with foam as standard ('Foam Core Insulation') and sells full foam and extra base-and-side panels as upgrades. It offers its own Coast Temperature Pro heat pump, which also cools, or 'Heat Pump Ready' plumbing for someone else's. Its 2024 brochure prints monthly running-cost ranges per model; we found no California energy listing to check them against.

Applies to: 1300 Plunge, 1302 Bench, 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1600 Sport, 1601 Sport Pro, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro

Dual zoneNo dual-temperature model: every Coast swim spa is one body of water at one…Partly

All ten current Coast swim spas share one body of water between the swim lane and the seats, with one heater and one control. If you want a hot side and a cool swim side at the same time, Coast doesn't make one.

Applies to: 1300 Plunge, 1302 Bench, 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1600 Sport, 1601 Sport Pro, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro

Service accessKeep every side reachable: Coast's manual says the equipment must stay accessible…Partly

Coast warns owners who build decks or enclosures to keep the equipment reachable and to make sure the spa can be lifted out without wrecking the surroundings. Gate valves let a technician swap pumps and heaters without draining, and partial foam leaves more of the cabinet open than full foam does. The manual names widely used 'BP' spa packs for the touchscreen models, and Coast's own parts site lists the swim pumps and control packs, some marked 'Call to order'.

Applies to: 1300 Plunge, 1302 Bench, 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1600 Sport, 1601 Sport Pro, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro

Warranty termsCoast Spas doesn't publish this. Ask the dealerNot published

Coast posts no swim spa warranty card: its manuals refer to a card that comes with the spa and its FAQ sends warranty questions to dealers. What is public is a list of things that void coverage, from lifting damage to unapproved decking to the wrong chemicals, and a one-year warranty on the cover. Get the card for your exact model in writing before you sign.

Applies to: 1300 Plunge, 1302 Bench, 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1600 Sport, 1601 Sport Pro, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro

Cover and lifterA 5-inch WeatherShield cover comes standard; a lifter doesn't, and a roll-up cover…Partly

Coast's builder pages mark a 5-inch WeatherShield cover as standard on every swim spa except the 1601 (grey on the 1401 VE). Coast says the fabric is up to three times stronger and 25% lighter than vinyl, but doesn't say how many panels the cover has. Lifters, including a hydraulic one, and a roll-up cover are sold separately, and the cover's warranty is one year.

Applies to: 1300 Plunge, 1302 Bench, 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1600 Sport, 1601 Sport Pro, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro; unconfirmed for the 1601 Sport Pro.

Service and originBuilt in Langley, B.C., Canada, and sold and serviced through Coast's dealers; US…Partly

Coast says all of its swim spas are made at its Langley, British Columbia plant and exported to more than 50 countries. Warranty registration goes to Coast, but its manual and FAQ send service and warranty questions to the dealer that sold the spa, so the dealer's technicians and parts shelf matter as much as the spa. Coast runs its own parts site, and several unhappy owners describe slow answers from Coast and their dealer.

Applies to: 1300 Plunge, 1302 Bench, 1400 VE, 1401 VE, 1600 Sport, 1601 Sport Pro, 1700 VE Sport, 1701 VE Sport Pro, 2100 VE Sport, 2101 VE Sport Pro

Get the price range