Arctic Spas swim spas

A Canadian cold-climate swim spa line: eight All-Weather Pools, seven on one 14-ft cabinet plus the 18-ft Polar Bear, with jet currents, a standard swim tether, perimeter insulation and a cedar cabinet that opens on all four sides.

8 models, 14′ 4″ to 18′ long.

Length
14′ 4″–18′
Water
1,347–1,901gal
Current
Jets
1 not stated
Hot tub side
None
Price
On request
Ask for the price range

All-Weather Pools8 models · 14′ 4″ to 18′ · jets

What owners report

Themes from owner reviews and forum threads, each linked to where it was posted. People with a problem are the most likely to post.

What owners praise1

A tether-only layout that suits slow, steady swimmersA retired couple shopping in 2019 said that after wet-testing several brands, whose currents pushed them into…1 source

A retired couple shopping in 2019 said that after wet-testing several brands, whose currents pushed them into walls and seats, the Athabascan's open, current-free 14-ft layout for tethered swimming was the only design that fit what they wanted. A shopper's view before purchase, not an owner report.

What owners complain about2

Dealer and service coverage is patchy in placesThe same 2019 shopper found no Arctic dealer, showroom or service in Northern California; the nearest contact…1 source

The same 2019 shopper found no Arctic dealer, showroom or service in Northern California; the nearest contact was in Spokane, and two forum respondents, one a long-time member, advised against buying a large-ticket spa without local dealer support.

Called pricey for a 14-ft swim spaIn a 2014 thread comparing a Wolverine with another brand, three posters, one of them a dealer, called Arctic…2 sources

In a 2014 thread comparing a Wolverine with another brand, three posters, one of them a dealer, called Arctic overpriced or 'a lot of money' for a 14-ft swim spa, while an Arctic dealer in the same thread called the shopper's quoted price a very good deal; in the 2019 thread a poster whose account name suggests a distributor called Arctic's swim spas overpriced and short on swimming power. Opinions without price or flow data.

Owner reports as of September 2026.

What Arctic Spas is known for

What salespeople lead with, checked against Arctic Spas’s own documents and public records. Of these eight, three hold up and five are partly true.

Partly trueA pool without the constructionArctic pitches the All-Weather Pool as a backyard pool you can be swimming in the day after delivery: set on…

The pitchArctic pitches the All-Weather Pool as a backyard pool you can be swimming in the day after delivery: set on a prepared concrete pad, a fraction of an in-ground pool's cost, and no spring opening or fall closing.

Our takeSkipping excavation and seasonal openings is real for any swim spa. But Arctic's own pages say a crane is required and the pad must be built for the load, and Arctic publishes no price to back the 'fraction of the cost' line.

Who else has it: Every swim spa maker sells the pool-alternative idea; it isn't specific to Arctic.

Partly trueMade for year-round use in hard wintersFreeHeat perimeter insulation traps pump heat around the shell and protects the plumbing from freezing if the…

The pitchFreeHeat perimeter insulation traps pump heat around the shell and protects the plumbing from freezing if the power fails, so the pool runs all year in a cold climate ('Engineered for the World's Harshest Climates').

Our takeRecycling motor heat and keeping the plumbing foam-free are real design choices, and a rival maker's comparison agrees the foam traps heat. But Arctic publishes no standby-watt figure or freeze test for its swim spas, and there's no California energy listing for any of them.

Who else has it: Perimeter insulation is not unusual among swim spas: Cal Spas, PDC, Wellis, Dynasty and American Whirlpool use it too. What Arctic stresses is foam on the cabinet floor as well as the walls, and a rival maker's 2024 comparison says it thinks Arctic is 'the only one out there' doing that.

Holds upFew othersA swim tether comes with every modelEvery All-Weather Pool includes the Tether Resistance System, which Arctic says was designed by professional…The catch: The tether does the hard work: Arctic itself rates its jets 'medium resistance'

The pitchEvery All-Weather Pool includes the Tether Resistance System, which Arctic says was designed by professional athletes and gives 'unlimited variable resistance for advanced swimmers', alongside a Monsoon or Niagara jet current on seven of the eight models.

Our takeThe 2026 brochure marks the tether standard on all eight models, and a tether gives a strong swimmer a full-effort workout in still water.

Who else has it: A few other makers also include a tether as standard: Sundance lists a 'Swim Tether Cord – (included)', PDC ships an 'AquaCross™ Tether Trainer' on most of its models and Dynasty includes one on some; Hydropool's comparison says it offers one only as an option. Most makers we researched list no tether as standard equipment.

The catch, partlyThe tether does the hard work: Arctic itself rates its jets 'medium resistance'. Arctic's own page says its swim jets give 'medium resistance for intermediate swimmers', its blog calls the Hudson's current 'entry-level', and the Athabascan has no current at all. Arctic publishes no flow, speed or horsepower-to-current figures.

Partly trueNiagara: an aimable jet current at 27 feet per secondThe Niagara Counter-Current System, standard on the Wolverine and Kingfisher, can be aimed up, down and side…

The pitchThe Niagara Counter-Current System, standard on the Wolverine and Kingfisher, can be aimed up, down and side to side, moves water at up to 27 feet per second, and comes with a guide light to keep you aligned.

Offered on: Wolverine, Kingfisher (Niagara Turbo upgrade on Polar Bear)

Our takeAimable direction and an alignment light are useful, but 27 ft/s is water speed at the outlet with no test method, Arctic's own pages disagree on whether it's one jet or several, and a rival notes its water is more agitated.

Who else has it: Jet counter-currents are the norm among swim spas; the aimable nozzle and alignment light are the details Arctic stresses, but nothing published shows the Niagara performs better than other jet currents.

Show 4 more selling points
Holds upSwim-area size printed for every modelEach product page shows a 'Swim Area Specifications' drawing with the open swim area's length and width, for…The catch: The lanes are short on most 14-ft models, and depth is missing

The pitchEach product page shows a 'Swim Area Specifications' drawing with the open swim area's length and width, for example 144 by 50 in on the Hudson and 165 by 67 in on the Polar Bear.

Our takeThe figures are printed on Arctic's own pages for all eight models, so buyers can compare lanes rather than cabinet sizes.

Who else has it: Several makers publish a swim or fitness area (PDC, Hydropool, Jacuzzi, Cal Spas and Sundance among them). Arctic's version is a drawing on every product page that outlines the open water and prints both its length and width.

The catchThe lanes are short on most 14-ft models, and depth is missing. The six-seat Ocean and Columbia leave 100 and 98 inches, the Okanagan's printed length is 55 inches, and every 14-ft lane is 50 inches wide. The outlined areas taper between the seats, Arctic's 'longest swim zone' Kingfisher prints 126 inches against the Hudson's 144, and no water depth is published.

Partly trueForever Floor sealed fiberglass baseArctic's SMC fiberglass Forever Floor is 'impervious to moisture, pests, and time' and, Arctic says, removes…The catch: On a swim spa it doesn't replace the concrete pad

The pitchArctic's SMC fiberglass Forever Floor is 'impervious to moisture, pests, and time' and, Arctic says, removes the need for costly site set-up.

Offered on: Standard on Ocean, Columbia, Okanagan, Polar Bear; upgrade on Hudson, Wolverine, Kingfisher, Athabascan

Our takeIt's a genuinely rot-proof base, standard on the Ocean, Columbia, Okanagan and Polar Bear. But the other four models ship on pressure-treated wood unless upgraded, and the no-pad promise doesn't apply to swim spas.

Who else has it: Sealed bases are common (Master Spas' high-density polymer base and Jacuzzi's ProPolymer base, for example). Arctic's is SMC fiberglass, which it compares to a cargo ship's hull, and its Custom warranty card covers the Forever Floor for life on a solid level pad.

The catchOn a swim spa it doesn't replace the concrete pad. Arctic's own Forever Floor page adds: 'A concrete pad is required for all All-Weather Pools with Forever Floor®'; its warranty requires a concrete pad or engineered deck for All-Weather Pools; and the four Gecko-pack models come on a pressure-treated wood floor as standard.

Partly trueLifetime shell warrantyArctic's top warranty covers the shell for as long as the original owner has the spa, with 5 years of parts…The catch: Water loss only, $60 of labor a claim, and it ends when you sell

The pitchArctic's top warranty covers the shell for as long as the original owner has the spa, with 5 years of parts and on-site labor on equipment and plumbing.

Offered on: Ocean and Okanagan (Custom card per the 2026 manual)

Our takeIt's in writing on the Custom card, which the 2026 manual applies to the Ocean and Okanagan. The four Classic-card models get 10 years, and Arctic doesn't say which card covers the Columbia or Polar Bear.

Who else has it: Long structure terms are common among premium brands (35 years at PDC and lifetime on Artesian's TidalFit, for example).

The catchWater loss only, $60 of labor a claim, and it ends when you sell. The shell term covers water loss from structural failure. Each approved claim gets at most $60 toward on-site labor, and travel is yours after the first 30 days. Removal, delivery and installation of a replacement spa, and any crane or deck removal, are also yours, and every warranty card ends when ownership transfers.

Holds upDoors on all four sides, no foam to dig throughThe Total Access cedar cabinet comes off on every side, and with perimeter insulation instead of full foam…

The pitchThe Total Access cedar cabinet comes off on every side, and with perimeter insulation instead of full foam the pumps, heater and plumbing stay reachable for repairs.

Our takeThe manual confirms access doors on all four sides, and Total Access is standard on all eight models.

Who else has it: Perimeter-insulated cabinets with reachable equipment are offered by several swim spa makers (Cal Spas, PDC, Wellis, Dynasty and American Whirlpool among them). Arctic's version has access doors on all four sides, per its manual, and a rival maker's comparison says it would be easy to repair and get access to over time.

What rivals and critics say3
  • A rival maker says Arctic's jet currents give more agitated water than its own shell design and that Arctic 'places the suction at the front of the swim spa'. Our check: No independent test compares them, and the rival is selling its own. Arctic publishes no flow or speed data either, so the claim can't be settled on paper.
  • A rival maker says it gave up cedar cabinets because they aged poorly. Our check: That was the rival's own experience; Arctic warrants its cedar cabinet 10 years on the Custom card and offers a composite No-Maintenance cabinet as an upgrade on seven models.
  • Forum posters in a 2014 thread and a 2019 thread called Arctic overpriced, one of them for a 14-ft swim spa. Our check: Opinion from shoppers and trade participants, not price data; Arctic publishes no prices, so compare written quotes.
Arctic Spas on the ten things we checkThe current, room to swim, the frame, site prep, service and the warranty

How Arctic Spas stands

The buying guide

The ten checks from our swim spa buying guide, answered from what Arctic Spas publishes and from public filings. Tap a row for the detail.

  • 1 yes
  • 9 partly
  • 0 no
  • 0 not published
Swim currentJet currents only: six stacked Monsoon jets or the aimable Niagara jet; the…Partly

Arctic uses two jet systems: the Monsoon, six stacked high-volume jets standard on the Ocean, Columbia, Okanagan, Hudson and Polar Bear, and the Niagara, an aimable jet it says moves water at up to 27 feet per second, on the Wolverine and Kingfisher. Every model also has a swim tether, and Arctic itself pitches the jets for intermediate swimmers and the tether for advanced ones. It publishes no flow rate, no speed settings and nothing on air injection.

Applies to: All eight All-Weather Pools: Monsoon on Ocean, Columbia, Okanagan, Hudson and Polar Bear (Niagara Turbo upgrade on Polar Bear); Niagara on Wolverine and Kingfisher; no current on Athabascan.

Room to swimArctic prints the open swim area for every model: 98-144 in long and 50 in wide on…Partly

Each product page has a 'Swim Area Specifications' drawing with a printed length and width, which only some makers offer. On the seven 14-foot models the lane runs from 98 in (Columbia) to 144 in (Hudson), all 50 in wide, and the 18-foot Polar Bear gives 165 by 67 in, or 144 by 50 in with the Niagara Turbo upgrade. Arctic prints only the 51-inch cabinet height, so ask how deep the water is.

Applies to: All eight models.

Frame and shellSelf-supporting fiberglass-backed acrylic shell; four models sit on a sealed…Partly

Arctic backs its acrylic with hand-applied, filler-free fiberglass and says the shell holds itself up with no beams or props; a rival maker's comparison also says Arctic's swim spas have no frame. The Ocean, Columbia, Okanagan and Polar Bear come with the SMC fiberglass Forever Floor, while the Hudson, Wolverine, Kingfisher and Athabascan get a pressure-treated wood platform floor unless you pay for the upgrade. Arctic publishes no laminate thickness or frame detail for its swim spas.

Applies to: All eight; floor type splits by model as noted.

Site prepNeeds a concrete pad or engineered deck rated for 146 lb per sq ft, a crane, and…Partly

Arctic's manual says an All-Weather Pool must sit on a uniformly solid, level surface rated for at least 146 lb per square foot, such as a concrete pad or properly engineered deck (never lawn, bare ground or gravel), with 24 inches clear on every side. Its technical pages add that a crane is required, and the Forever Floor's no-pad promise doesn't apply to swim spas. Wiring is one 240-V breaker: 40 A for one-pump builds, 50 A for the two- and three-pump builds of the Ocean, Columbia, Okanagan and Polar Bear, and 60 A for four-pump builds and for the Wolverine (three pumps) and Kingfisher (two pumps); the three-pump Hudson's breaker size isn't published.

Applies to: All eight models.

Running costPerimeter FreeHeat insulation and a thick Mylovac cover are standard, but Arctic…Partly

Arctic insulates the cabinet walls and floor (its blog says 3-4 inches of 2 lb foam) and leaves the equipment foam-free so pump heat warms the water; every All-Weather Pool ships with a 5-to-4-inch tapered Mylovac cover (6-5-4 on the Polar Bear). We found no California energy listing for any Arctic swim spa, and Arctic's 'California Energy Commission compliant' line comes without figures. Arctic doesn't explain its CoolMode for hot weather, so ask the dealer.

Applies to: All eight models.

Dual zoneNo dual-zone models: every All-Weather Pool is one body of water at one…Partly

Arctic's lineup has no divided or dual-temperature swim spa, so you choose one temperature for swimming and soaking, or change it and wait. Seating runs from none on the Kingfisher to six seats on the Ocean and Columbia, all in the shared water. With one heater and one control pack there's only one set of equipment to maintain.

Applies to: All eight models.

Service accessRemovable doors on all four sides and a foam-free cabinet; Arctic asks for 24 in of…Yes

Arctic's Total Access cabinet and perimeter insulation leave the pumps, heater and plumbing free of foam, and the owner's manual says the spa has access doors on all four sides that must stay reachable with at least 24 inches of clearance. Its hose is glued over rigid PVC and, Arctic says, can usually be repaired with a clamp, but union-connection leaks are excluded from the warranty as owner-serviceable. The warranty won't pay to remove a deck, sunroom or gazebo or for a crane.

Applies to: All eight models.

Warranty termsLifetime (Custom card) or 10-year (Classic card) structure cover against water…Partly

Arctic's 2026 manual puts the Ocean and Okanagan under its Custom card (lifetime shell, 5 years on surface, equipment and plumbing) and the Hudson, Wolverine, Kingfisher and Athabascan under its Classic card (10-year shell, 4-year surface, 3-year equipment); it doesn't say which card covers the Columbia or Polar Bear. Both cards cap warranty labor at $60 per approved claim, charge travel after the first 30 days, leave removal and crane costs to you, exclude freeze damage and end when the spa is sold. No card lists the swim system separately.

Applies to: Ocean and Okanagan (Custom card); Hudson, Wolverine, Kingfisher, Athabascan (Classic card); Columbia and Polar Bear not stated.

Cover and lifterA heavy tapered Mylovac cover is standard; a lifter isn't, and the warranty…Partly

Every All-Weather Pool ships with a Mylovac foam cover tapering 5 to 4 inches (6-5-4 on the Polar Bear), vacuum-sealed around double-density foam with a metal channel, locking straps and wind flaps, and the manual calls it a locking safety cover meeting ASTM F1346-91. Arctic doesn't publish how many sections it has or what it weighs, sells lifters separately, and gives the cover 3 years, parts only, counting seam damage from a lifter as normal wear. Lift a panel in the showroom.

Applies to: All eight models.

Service and originBuilt by Blue Falls Manufacturing of Thorsby, Alberta, which also lists plants in…Partly

Arctic says its spas are manufactured in Canada and the United States and sells through a dealer network it puts at more than 300 worldwide; warranty work must be done by a factory-authorized dealer and applies only where the spa was first installed. A 2019 forum shopper in Northern California found no Arctic dealer nearer than Spokane, so confirm a local technician before buying. An asset auction at the Thorsby site closed on September 22, 2026; all eight model pages were still online on September 27, 2026.

Applies to: All eight models.

Get the price range